The Many Roles I Play

I’ve been thinking a lot the past few days about everything I do. And who I am to everyone around me.

I’m a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother, a friend, an in-law, a co-worker, an employee…

I can be a housecleaner, a housewife, a caregiver…

I never stop being something for someone. I’m always there, and constantly feel like I’m not doing a good enough job, which hinders me because I don’t do things because I feel like I’m going to fail so why bother, right?

I do my best, and I feel great about it in the moment…but after…I look back and think “I could have done better.”

I can do more for my mom, I can make more of an effort with some things. I feel like I fail as a sister because I feel like I’m disappointing my brother. As a wife and mother? Oh, I don’t want to get started on that. Every day, all day I’m terrified I’m screwing up. I feel like I could be so much better. I’m so wrapped up in how I’m failing, even if it’s not in my control. I try my best to be a good friend, but sometimes I’m at a loss for words and I hate it. I wish I could always say the right thing, do the right thing. When it comes to my best friend Jacque, I feel like I’m not being my best sometimes. As an in-law….I seriously don’t mingle well with my husband’s family. I keep to myself and just go with it. I know I don’t put forth much effort there, but it’s because I’m just too different. They’re all about following the rules on how a person should look or act or who they should be in love with. All kinds of cookie cutter…and I’m not like that. I can’t be like that. Thank God for my husband. As a co-worker and employee….I’m just doing what I have to do to survive. Hopefully I can get into school and do what I want. Help other kids who have been in the same situation as me. And help them, let them know there is a way out.

I’m not the Suzie Homemaker type. Cleaning, cooking…yea no. I barely do a good job taking care of my stepdaughter. My goal? That I can say she’s well fed and alive by the end of the day.

Being a caregiver is my job, and I think I do it very well. I’ve only had a few issues, and for the most part my clients have always liked me. They love seeing me and I love seeing them. Now, this is not something I want to do for the rest of my life. I love taking care of people, but I already have a career goal in mind. I just really hope I can make it.

I want to be able to look back on my life and be happy. I want to say that I did okay and I have a  lot to be proud of. I want few regrets. Life isn’t all peaches and cream, shit happens and life can majorly suck. I’m on a road to better myself and take back my life. Things could be so much worse, but they can also be better.

Leave a Reply

